Review: Dark Lie by Nancy Springer

Dark Lie by Nancy Springer

Published: November 6, 2012 by NAL Trade

Format/Source: Paperback Received from Goodreads’ giveaway

Dorrie has a secret. She hasn’t told her husband, and has even buried it from herself. But when she witnesses a teenage girl getting kidnapped, she surprises herself and launches into action.

Dorrie is not your usual heroine. Middle aged and battling Lupus, she is an interesting main character. She is overweight and is in almost constantdarklie pain or stiffness. She is also extraordinarily subservient. Her parents are the couple from the American Gothic picture. Very conservative and religious, they are the kind of people that see only the sin in people and have forgotten the love part of faith. Parents leave an impact on their children, which was shown through various characters in the book.

There was very strong religious tones in the book that I’m not sure how I felt about. At first I didn’t like it, but as I began to understand the characters more, I understood the stylistic choices that the author made. And it didn’t cross the line between allowing the characters to be religious and the author preaching a certain religion. I appreciated that.

I read the book pretty fast. I tried to read it before going to bed but found myself too wound up. It’s definitely an intense read with its themes and plot.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

