Review: Alpha Girl by Kate Bloomfield

alphagirlAlpha Girl by Kate Bloomfield

Published: March 25th 2013
Format/Source: PDF for Blog Tour
Genre: Adult paranormal romance

Synopsis:

Seventeen year old Rose Goldman is highly unpopular in the little town of Halfway. Ever since the ‘attack’ when she was a little girl, people and animals have been afraid of her. She gets bullied in school, and called ‘wet dog’ because of the way she smells, despite being extremely hygienic. However, life takes a turn when a new teacher starts at Halfway High. Mr. Stone, the quirky and charismatic English teacher is twice Rose’s age, but she feels an unexplainable pull towards him from day one. Despite her better judgement, Rose pursues a friendship with Mr. Stone, who seems unable to stay away from her. What is pulling this unlikely pair together?

Review:

So this is awkward.

This was the first book I received a review copy for a blog tour for that I had to bow out of posting my review during the time of the tour. I would have loved to have given it a better rating and participated, but I fear that it would not be honest, and what point is there to a dishonest review?

I will say that the second half of the book, while other reviewers mentioned that it was boring to them, did help to redeem the book in my eyes. When the stakes got higher, I was more intrigued by what was going to happen. However, the book never rose above the ‘it’s okay’ rating that is associated with two stars.

I approached this book with an open mind. I am not a fan of student/teacher romance stories, but then again, have I ever read one before? (The answer is no. This was the first one.) Yet, I was not ambushed by it; the synopsis and author were very clear as to what to expect from the content so I cannot fault it in any way for that. If you cannot put aside your personal feelings towards that kind of subject matter, then this story is definitely not for you.

There is a lot of telling instead of showing, of holding the readers’ hands. The writing could do with more editing and there are some rough transitions between scenes within chapters. I’ve read a bit that this was a style that some readers enjoy, but for me it read like what little I’ve experienced from Twilight. I’m not against simple writing. You really can’t get much simpler writing that The Hunger Games trilogy. The reading level of that text is probably like 6th grade. But that was written in a way that still captivated me. Alpha Girl instead made me aware that I was reading it; at no time did I really become totally lost within its hold. While this story is by no means young adult, Rose’s point of view recalls a lot of the teen angst and self-righteousness that is present in a lot of young adult books that could perhaps be repulsive to those seeking an adult read only.

At times, the student/teacher relationship felt spurious to the paranormal aspects, or vice versa. However, I was intrigued by both, enough that I would be curious to check out the sequel at some point.

My rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

