BEA 2013: Day 1 Priorities

book-expo-americaIn this installment of BEA posts, I have finally begun to really narrow down my initial list of the books that I am interested from those at the autographing place. I was able to first cut those that the authors will be signing on Saturday, the day I will not be attending BEA. Today, I went through the author/event list on the BEA website to search for all those authors of the books on my list.

I sorted out those that will be on Thursday and those that will be on the Friday of BEA. Going through Goodreads, I looked at each books’ synopsis. Previously I had only looked at their one sentence description on the BEA website. I feel like I have a pretty good grip of the books that I like and don’t like at this point. I was able to sort of give a priority ranking to the different books to really help me narrow them down. Admittedly, some of the priorities were given because of my fandom of certain authors. I know that I will need to finesse this even further, but quite frankly, I’m glad I’m doing this in stages and not in one marathon. I was able to cut about 15 books from Thursday’s books. When I look at books for too long I become cynical and some of the initial ‘love at first sight’ feeling is lost through being too analytical.

That said, I only assigned initial prioritization to Thursday’s books. Here is where that stands:

Priority Aoutcasts

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake Thu. May 30 9:30-10:30 am
The Outcasts by Kathleen Kent Thu. May 30 11:00-11:30 am
Requiem by Lauren Oliver Thu. May 30 11:30-12:30 pm

Priority B

rithmatistForeign Gods, Inc. by Okey Ndibe Thu. May 30 11:30-12:30 pm
Invasion by Walter Dean Myers Thu. May 30 1:00-2:00 pm
The Grammarian by Annapurna Potluri Thu. May 30 1:00-2:00 pm
The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson Thu. May 30 2:00-3:00 pm
Storm Watcher by Maria V. Snyder Thu. May 30 3:00-4:00 pm

Priority C

Across A Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund Thu. May 30 10:00-10:30 am
3:59 by Gretchen McNeil Thu. May 30 10:30-11:00 ampoison pill
Heart Like Mine by Amy Hatvany Thu. May 30 11:00-11:30 am
Born of Illusion by Teri Brown Thu. May 30 11:30 – 12:00 pm
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas Thu. May 30 1:00-2:00 pm
If You Were Here by Alafair Burke Thu. May 30 1:00-2:00 pm
Rush by Eve Silver Thu. May 30 1:00-1:30 pm
Crystal City Lights by Holly Moulder Thu. May 30 2:00-3:00 pm
Alligator Alley by Rick Robinson Thu. May 30 2:30-3:30 pm
The Poison Pill by Glenn Kaplan Thu. May 30 3:00-4:00 pm

So I think my next step is looking at those that require a ticket for the signing and perhaps doing additional research to see if these books will only be available at the autographing area. My guess is that many are only available at the autographing area at their times, but we’ll see. Either way, I’m definitely interested in these books regardless of whether I get the chance to spot them at the expo.

What do you think of my list? How would you go about this differently? Any suggestions? Any book recommendations?

4 thoughts on “BEA 2013: Day 1 Priorities

    • Well, that was my original ‘plan’ because I didn’t know of a lot of the books & authors offhand. I figured I’d just wander. But everywhere I’m reading says you need at least some kind of plan to at least make sure you get what you want. So while I’m definitely going to try not to be anal about sticking to the plan, I will have at least a baseline.

  1. Lookin’ good. Unfortunately a lot of the things that have caught my attention, the times overlap. I’ll just see how I roll. I’m prioritising the panels I’m interested in.

    • Yeah, there are quite a few panels that I would like to attend too. I’m sort of creating my book signing/drop agenda separate from the panels. I figure I’ll make the decision the day of what’s more important to me to go to.

Leave a Reply

