Book Blogging Challenge Day 12: Combating Blogging Fatigue

I discovered April’s 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge at Good Books and Good Wine. Each day has a different prompt, though anyone can jump in at any time. It’s a great way to get to know each other as well as explore different topics that I might not have touched on. The 15 different challenges are:

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Good Books And Good Wine

Today’s Challenge: How do you fight blogger fatigue?

I find this a somewhat funny question because I don’t just fight blogger fatigue. I fight all kinds of fatigue:
*       Reading
*       Working
*       Cleaning
*       Social
*       Gaming
*       Frugal

Basically anything that really requires some sort of effort, I can go through phases of feeling fatigued by. Sometimes, all I need is a little break. In terms of blogging, yes, that means that maybe I have a little bit of a history of disappearing for a week only to reappear in full force. Perhaps I should give fair warning when I’ll be going radio silent but it’s never usually a planned thing. It’s just something that happens. And then afterwards I feel much better. Reinvigorated is perhaps the correct word.

But blogging fatigue can come in different ways. I have found that if I am reading a lot of blogs, I might end up seeing my voice mimicking the voice I see on other sites. I start using the same type of words or format in posting a certain way. Sometimes exploring your writing in new directions can breathe new life into the words that appear on the glowing screen. I like it when what gets published on my blog is intrinsically me. And while sometimes that is a tired me that is barely refraining from complaining or an inspired and creative me, in the end it is me.

And there’s a lot less pressure to be me than anything else.

One thought on “Book Blogging Challenge Day 12: Combating Blogging Fatigue

  1. Pingback: 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 12 | The Day Dreaming, Candy Eating, Red Headed Bookworm

Leave a Reply

