Book Blogging Challenge Day 14: Deal Breakers

discovered April’s 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge at Good Books and Good Wine. Each day has a different prompt, though anyone can jump in at any time. It’s a great way to get to know each other as well as explore different topics that I might not have touched on. The 15 different challenges are:

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Good Books And Good Wine

Today’s Challenge: Tell us your deal breakers.

This is a good question. Sometimes my deal breakers are hard to put into words. But here’s a few I’ve experienced:

  • If the story is being vague, for art’s sake or due to bad writing. Now, I can appreciate art just like the next person. But if I’m reading a story that is more like reading a poem without any story progression or any better understanding of what is actually going on beyond confusing description, I’m generally put off.
  • The story needs to be paced right. If the story is too slow, I start to get anxious and my attention begins to wander to the other books I could be reading. This doesn’t mean that I only read short books. That’s not the case at all. It’s just I should be able to say what the story is about after at least 100 pages.
  • Bad editing. If there are characters mislabeled or blatant copy editing errors, I get frustrated.
  • Sometimes it really comes down to the person’s writing style. There’s some who like to be crude and choppy–that’s just not always my thing. I like balance between the long-winded artsy writing and the blunt in your face writing.
  • There’s a few subjects that I’d rather not read, but I generally read anything and I have been pleasantly surprised in the past so I try to keep an open mind.
  • I will not buy a book that is a profit to someone that’s unethical. Topically, a juror’s novel or a criminal’s novel. It just doesn’t seem right to me.
Leave a Reply

