Sunday’s Scribble: Author Panel Motivation

note“Sunday’s Scribble” is a feature here at Playing Jokers where Michelle tries to motivate herself to not just read, but to write creatively. If you are interested in playing along, please contact Michelle! ”Sunday’s Scribble” in its infancy and open to feedback to help evolve it.

Author Panel Motivation

As I alluded to on Friday, I attended a Young Adult Author Panel at Hooray for Books last Saturday. It was the first author panel I’ve gone to in a long time and I am super happy that I made it. Of course, I very nearly missed it because I was sick and was taking a nap to wake up with 20  minutes to get there, but it ended up okay. 🙂

I found out about the author panel through an awesome Facebook group I belong to. One of the authors created an event and I’m just lame enough to not have had anything else going on (just kidding! I am glad I made it.)

The panel was titled, “Love and Legend” and featured the following awesome authors:

Diana PeterfreundFor Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1)

Diana Peterfreund, author of For Darkness Shows the Stars, a  novel about two people living in a post-apocalyptic society based on Jane Austen’s Persuasion.

April LindnerJane

April Lindner, author of Jane, a  novel based on Jane Eyre with a rock and roll twist.

P.J. HooverSolstice

P.J. Hoover, author of Solstice, an adventure in a global warmed world (certainly feeling like we’re already there this week!) with mythological happenings.

Bennett MadisonSeptember Girls

Bennett Madison, author of September Girls, a novel–as he described it–that is a kind of retelling of the Little Mermaid.

They each talked about the premise of their books, they read excerpts and answered questions. Of course I bought all four and had them signed. (Because of course, I needed more books…right?)

So the reason why I’m putting this as one of my Sunday Scribbles posts is because there is something about being among writers, seeing them proud of their sweat and tears (and perhaps blood, though hopefully not) that is somewhat motivating. I am like that little kid who watches a movie and then decides she wants to be a movie star. I sit in an author panel and think, ‘Wouldn’t it be fantastic to experience the other side of this?’

So I am definitely perhaps a modicum more motivated to write creative than I might have been otherwise. And at the very least, I have 4 new books added to my ever expanding reading queue.

Leave a Reply

