August’s Reading List

So I realized in reading other people’s blogs that instead of just keeping a private list of their book queue, they post it on their blog. Which completely makes sense, so I’m going to give it a go.

I in no means intend this to act as any sort of real accountability. Instead, it’s meant to serve as a guide and perhaps give a head’s up of what kind of The Transplantreviews you can expect to see from me on Playing Jokers.

I began reading The Transplant by Alexander Ulysses last week. I won it from LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers and so far it’s interesting. It deals with illegal immigration, and is sometimes a bit political in the way that it comes off. I expect to be done with it fairly soon.

The next book is one I again won a couple of months ago from…Goodreads I think this time. His Magesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik is the first book in a series that I think the publishers are trying to generate some buzz for. I hadn’t heard of it, but it will be quite a shift to go from realistic fiction to what looks like a bit of alternate history. I haven’t read any alternate histories before so I’m curious to see what I think of it.

I need to make sure that I don’t procrastinate too long on reading the August book pick for my book club. Lately, I tend to wait until the last week before we meet and then I’m rushing through the book, stressed that I won’t finish it in time. So next will be Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I will probably borrow this from the library or a friend. I really don’t have the space for any more books right now.

From this point, I don’t really have a set order, but I have three books I’d like to make sure I get to. The first is Catherine by April Lindner. She and her Love and Lamentpublicist were very kind in sending me access to the ebook to review after meeting Ms. Lindner at an author panel. I always feel bad when someone gives me a book to review and I don’t get to it very fast. I’m just a slow reader, not a neglectful one.

Another option for late August is Love and Lament by John Milliken Thompson. This is one of the books I got from the Book Expo America (BEA). (This is the point when I confess I picked up way too many books at BEA. I’m sorry! But I totally plan on reading every book I got and recommending them to people and my book club.) Love and Lament got me with its pretty cover. It’s historical fiction in the South after the Civil War…clearly I was meant to read it right?!

The final option for the end of the month is Tumble & Fall by Alexandra Coutts. Another book I picked up BEA (and got signed!), it is to be published in September, so I’d like to be able to have read it and have a review up close to its publication date.

The sad thing is, this is barely a dent in all the books I feel the pressure to get through. There are so many that I went a little nuts with in requesting and buying, and so on that for the past couple of months, I’ve stopped requesting or accepting anything. I have said a few times that I hate feeling too far behind with all the books and their associated obligations. So it is my intention to really try to get through everything I have and potentially find new homes for them as I go along.

And of course, the above is only my reading list. I have a separate list for those audiobooks that I have, but I’ll leave that out for now. 🙂

How do you determine what to read next?

One thought on “August’s Reading List

  1. I have heard great things on the interwebs about Gone Girl 🙂 I hope it’s good, you will have to let me know.

    Love and Lament looks snazzy!

    This month I am participating in ARC August hosted at Read. Sleep. Repeat. I really need to get through some ARCS that have been on my list for too long :/

    Good luck with your list 🙂

Leave a Reply

