Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

toptentues

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Broke and Bookish.

This week is the Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters. The sad thing is, that my list isn’t necessarily the best secondary characters, but definitely the most memorable if I can actually remember who they are after having read the book. I generally have a hard time remembering anything about books after a little bit of time has passed (one of the reasons why I have a hard time finishing series–what happened before this book again?).

So, in no particular order:

1. Eric Northman from the Southern Vampire series by Charlaine Harris

Okay, maybe the show True Blood has something to do with me being able to remember him, but geez, who wouldn’t be able to remember a hot Viking Vampire?

2. Valek from the Study series by Maria V. Snyder

Again, if I have actually read a series, the likliehood of me remembering any of the characters grows exponentially. Valek, despite being creepy older than his love interest, was definitely memorable and disturbingly cool.

3. Elvis from the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz

Elvis is definitely a secondary if not tertiary character, but his ghost provides Odd Thomas with some support throughout his crazy adventures. I enjoyed the first two books better than the third and haven’t gotten around to reading any more of the series, but I think I’ll eventually get to them.

4. Four from the Divergent series by Veronica Roth

I thought it’d be appropriate to add Four for number four. He may be more of a main character, but I figured he counts as a secondary character. He’s pretty cool, a more complicated character with real history than what you might typically find as the male interest in young adult (not bashing the genre, just my observation from what I’ve read…and can remember).

5. Tyrion from A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin

Does he even need an explanation? Though again, is he a main character? I figured they are all secondary and main characters in this series.

6. Catherine Howard from Gilt by Katherine Longshore

Gilt was a book that definitely surprised me in how much I liked it. Cat was an awesome character and while it may or may not be true, it makes me think of her spot in history a little differently.

7. Kaidan Rowe from Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

The son of the Duke of Lust…okay clearly there is a theme with those characters that I can actually remember, but I swear these are just genuinely memorable characters!

8. Barrow Hess from Rift by Andrea Cremer

Like Varek, his age difference and role as a teacher to the main character ruins any kind of swooning the author might have intended with some of the romance elements, but there was definitely something about Rift that stands out more in my memory. Clearly I need to make sure I read the sequel that’s already out.

9. Jamie Fraser from the Outlander series by Diane Gabaldon

Okay, my last romantic-type of memorable secondary character.

10. Syrenka from Monstrous Beauty by Elizabeth Fama

She’s definitely a multidimensional character and she plays a pretty pivotal role in the story. Perhaps I pretended to be her when I was in the ocean this weekend, maybe I didn’t.

Do any of these characters make your list?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Memorable Secondary Characters

    • Yeah same here…I’ve only read the first one but I definitely plan on reading the series once I can take the the time to digest such large books…

  1. A Valek… how I love him… although her naming gimmick for him was not my favorite… and not at all how I imagined him… physically. ๐Ÿ˜„

    I thought about the Fire and Ice characters… as well as some other fantasy novels (Joe Abercrombie’s books, anyone? Anyone?)… but mostly I had a problem with this list as there were just too many characters I’d love to add to it… and I get this terrible, nagging feeling that I’m *really* missing some important ones.

    Also… It’s so awesome that you’ve actually read The Hounds of the Morrigan!!!
    More people should read that book. I wish Pat O’Shea had written more.

    • Yeah, despite my overall somewhat positive-not overwhelming positive feelings towards the Study series, Valek remains memorable. And yes, The Hounds of the Morrigan is seriously one of my favorite books. The mix of magic, folklore, realism, humor…it’s such just a perfect cocktail.

    • There’s just something memorable about him. And I can’t really figure out why I remember him vs. all those other characters out there.

    • Yeah, there’s a strange teacher vs. student, old vs. young dynamic with a few fantasy young adult novels I’ve discovered. It generally creeps me out but the majority of people just find it endearing and attractive. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

