#RothReread Week 1: Factions

divergent reread2

(I’m feeling that wave of laziness that strikes me about once a month when it comes to blogging. So I’m a bit late in getting this post up, and probably others as well.)

I was a bit late in starting my reread of Divergent, but I’m pleased to say that I have finished it. I won’t be able to start Insurgent until my mother finishes my copy,ย  but maybe I’ll get it back this weekend. I will I realized a few things in my reread of it.

  • Details are super vague and confusing. I kind of noticed it on my first read but I was too propelled by the drama to care. It is still good for the drama, but I do wish that it was a bit more detailed in terms of setting and character movements.
  • The serum technology is also really confusing. I think there a lot of things you have to take in stride when reading this series versus some other books.
  • Tris is really kind of bitch. She treated Al way meaner that I would have. I think that Four/Tobias is in a few ways more of a dynamic character than Tris is.

Those little thoughts aside, today’s conversation is on which faction I would be a part of, both born into and then chosen.

I have a harder time thinking of which faction I would have been born into. I don’t think I can figure that one out. When I first read the book, I thought I’d want to be in Candor, but two different quizzes have placed me closer to Abnegation. Which is really strange, because I’m really an extraordinarily selfish person. I would want to pick Dauntless, but Dauntless how it was back when and not how it is with Eric in charge. I would suffer from the lack of natural light in their headquarters.

Which faction would you have been born into? Which faction would you have joined?

Join the conversation!

4 thoughts on “#RothReread Week 1: Factions

    • haha I think a lot of people would be fine with it. I just always crave real light vs. darkness. I think I’d always be on top of their roof. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • nice! I do think those two factions are pretty closely related. I like parts of Amity, but I really am way too prone to mean humor for them.

Leave a Reply

