#rothreread Insurgent’s Ending

divergent reread2

#rothreread is an effort hosted by Allodoxophobia and Gone Pecan as we reread Divergent and Insurgent to prepare for the final installment of the Divergent trilogy.

I swear sometimes my mind is like a sieve. I finished rereading both Divergent and Insurgent last month and already some of the impact of the ending is leaving me. I clearly need to hurry up and read the short stories and preorder Allegiant. Today’s #rothreread topic is the ending of Insurgent. Which obviously means that there will be spoilers in this post. Don’t be caught unaware! You have been warned.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I realized that the first time I read Insurgent, I had thought the big name reveal of one of the original inhabitants of this new Chicago was Tris’s mother. That obviously led to a lot of confusion for me. But now that I know that it is not her mother, it makes a bit more sense. I have to admit, the ending still upsets me a little. I don’t appreciate the rug being pulled out from under me as a reader. The thing that saves this book from being thrown across the room is that the main character believed everything the reader was made to believe too. It’s a product of her point of view that were misled. I still don’t know if I truly understand the whole premise of the entire series. Like what really is Divergent? How is not everyone already that way? Is the whole experiment designed to force people to evolve physically, physiologically, psychologically to become more flexible? Wouldn’t it take more effort to evolve to becoming suitable for a single faction than it would to become divergent?

I still am very curious to finish the series, particularly because I really do hope that there are more answers to be found in Allegiant. Perhaps I would be better off keeping my questions to myself and just enjoying the action that throws the reader forward in the book…hmmm.

What did you think of the ending of Insurgent?

Join the conversation!

Leave a Reply

